after strawgate and woodgate.

Yesterday’s plan to drink myself back into regular waking hours fell flat on its face when I woke up, after just over two hours of sleep, at 3am. I protested against this obviously poor decision by trying to get back to sleep and, when that didn’t work, willing myself to sleep by watching top 10 list videos on YouTube. That didn’t work out too well either leaving me with one remaining option, non-violent resistance; refusing to leave my bed until it started getting lighter outside, knowing full well that I wouldn’t see lunchtime without my brain once again being increasingly more unorthodox in it’s manner of calling the shots on bedtime.

I’m due for a return visit to Mr Fenton for a check-up on my surgery recovery on Friday, although I am confident in my ability to get a reasonable amount of sleep at a reasonable time when put under pressure. Right now there’s no pressure at all, just occasional glimmers of boredom and the false sense of security pain killers bring about, under those conditions sleep is an excellent method of passing the time in a fun and interesting way.


It’s a shame #MetalGate came and went so quickly, having been outlived by the average mayfly and without even the sex in the afternoon, because it was as hilarious to watch as its name. “Gate” is an overused and flimsy suffix even for a political scandal, but to tack it on to the end of words as a means to say “Someone said something negative about a thing I like and it made me angry to think that other people have feelings” is just so precious you could almost imagine hermetically sealing it in a glass display case, then in a crate, then in a nondescript warehouse like the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark.

[tweet https://twitter.com/akaFLAMEGiRL/status/544646226713772032 align=’center’]

Apart from anything, a metal gate is an actual thing, it’s just going to cause confusion and clash with the relatively benign world of landscape gardeners. Maybe the guys running around, wanking themselves senseless about “ethics in music journalism” can use one to close themselves off from a world that trying keeps bringing their tricky politics into their otherwise trouble-free lives. They wouldn’t need to lock it though, it’s a pretty safe guarantee that no-one will be trying to break in.

Just when you thought the gossamer-thin veneer of #GamerGate’s true intentions couldn’t be any more transparent they prove themselves, once again, to be like frightened little children lost in a world that’s changing too fast for them, clinging on to ideas “like “The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few (although it’s a good job that my blinkered view of the world has me as one of the many, although only when it suits me)”. If you look at their little faces, it’s almost as if they understand.

Leave a comment